Partner countries


The programme supports countries under two approaches.

Eight partner countries under Approach 1 benefit from three-year technical assistance to strengthen their social protection systems, in particular through better public finance management and improved implementation systems.

The following countries were pre-selected for three-year support: Angola, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Ethiopia, Nepal, Paraguay, Senegal and Uganda.

Under Approach 2, implemented by the ILO, additional 15-20 countries, selected through calls for concept notes receive on-demand shorter-term technical advisory services

In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the programme organized a call for proposals under Approach 2 and the following ten countries were selected for short-term technical support: Bangladesh, Cabo Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Ecuador, Malawi, Myanmar, Nigeria, Peru, Sri Lanka and Togo. These countries receive shorter-term technical assistance from the ILO with a focus on the pandemic response.  

A second call for proposals is planned to be launched by May 2021.